Pieces of Sardinia

Pieces of Sardinia

Inspired by Roberto Petza, born in the 1968 in San Gavino Monreale, a little village of the Campidano plain. He obtained the hotel-management diploma in Alghero, and decided to improve his chef skills with a long experience in the most important Italian and International restaurants. In 1998 Roberto came back in Sardinia and opened, in his native village the S’Apposentu Restaurant, obtaining credits and commissions that certify its high value. In 2002 he moved to Cagliari and inaugurated the restaurant S’Apposentu al Teatro Lirico. It was a great success: his tasting traditional food, made with selected row materials of the region, is appreciated by famous gourmets and the most important gastronomical guides reward the S’Apposentu with the Michelin Star, an award given to a small number of restaurants of outstanding quality…

This recipe is very simple, and extremely tasty…So, I’m talking about

Melon salad with juicy grapes and fresh prawns

Serves 4:
50 g grapes, peeled and de-seeded
200 g chopped white melon (cubes)
1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar
12 fresh prawns, peeled and deveined
50 g almonds
1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
Extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper to taste
1 lemon chopped (cut into small cubes)
Basil leaves

Method:
Season the prawns with salt and pepper then sprinkle with a tablespoon of olive oil and ginger, then keep them in the fridge.
Season the melon with salt, pepper, and a tablespoon of olive oil, keep cool.
Put the grapes in a blender, add the vinegar (and a bit of honey if you want), almonds, salt, pepper and 2 tablespoons of olive oil, then blitz them together to a rough consistency of a salsa.
Arrange the melon cubes on the plates, top with the prawns, then add the basil leaves and pour over the grape mixture.

My dear friend made me smile today…She said:
“I am sure this recipe is yummy but life is to short to peel grapes my dear so I think I will twist this as follows (the English lazy version):
– I will use normal grapes (skin on, skin is the best bit!)
– I will cook the prawns!!!”

ughhh πŸ™‚
yes, cook the prawns…fortunatelly in Italy is still possible to find fresh (local) prawns…so, no need to cook them..

Normal grapes?? Those I have in the garden are coming from Mars? no…they are “normal” too…:)

so…this was my dinner yesterday…I’m still alive (and kicking)…in spite of the fact I was tasting the raw prawns…

Brian Molko

17 thoughts on “Pieces of Sardinia

  1. with credentials like that, this recipe is a ‘must try’ for sure. It looks fit for a queen! Mars grapes, I’ve heard spoken of before… so for no other reason, I had to satisfy my curiosity and look them up. I am impressed & enlightened now. thank you for another yummy post. …to peel or not to peel?

  2. Dear Luana,
    you are indeed a very beautiful β™₯ blogger and you’ll be top of my list of inspiring bloggers in my next post. Thank you for sharing all this truly great moments with us.
    Lβ™₯ve and big hug to you, my dear.
    Dina x

Leave a Reply

