A WONDERFUL PLACE

A WONDERFUL PLACE

”What is the fatal charm of Italy? What do we find there that can be found nowhere else? I believe it is a certain permission to be human, which other places, other countries, lost long ago.”

Indeed…That’s what I think and I see continuously around me…

That’s what I see when I enter my favourite shop to choose some biscuits, or some Panettone…having a talk with Tatiana, the nice owner of “Bottega La Melagrana”..I know her shop since she opened, a few years ago. And thanks to her tastes and the quality choices, her shop “grows” every year…

“There is, in fact, no law or government at all [in Italy]; and it is wonderful how well things go on without them.”
Things go well, no matter what…Lord Byron was right…As governments now answer to business, not voters…

20 thoughts on “A WONDERFUL PLACE

    • TEMPTATION (with 1000 different shades) IS THE LEITMOTIF OF MY DAY!! (sorry, you don’t know why am I saying that if you did not read some previous comments I’ve done in the morning…..And yes, Italy is a wonderful place – not only during the Christmas time…Just in case you and your wife will ever decide to visit my area (Rome) let me know…
      Luana

      • We rented an apartment in Trastevere 5 years ago. It was exquisite. Warm enough for a light sweater during the day, cool in the evenings. Wonderful. No lines for museums, just walked in. I felt bad for the poor restaurant staff in Trastevere, lingering outside their doors, smoking, waiting for the rare client. People were very nice. Ken

      • Last week, walking in the Termini area must say the I had the same feeling: sadness seeing the restaurants staff…they are even following you on the street talking about the menu…even if you did not ask for that…
        Part of the reality…But not everywhere is the same…

        Trastevere has the Jewish Ghetto…a very intriguing place…tell me about that, not about the empty restaurants….
        and…hmmm….romans are messy people…
        🙂

  1. “I believe it is a certain permission to be human…” Well said. Presumably you mean that we are allowed to indulge our temptations without the professional do-gooders telling us to behave.

    “As governments now answer to business, not voters…”

    Nobody likes corruption but at least you know where you stand. It’s the professional moralists in government that you can’t throw off your back.

    • You are continually ascribing complex aspects to what I am trying to show offering (in words) a very human perspective…and I LOVE IT!…and I THANK YOU for this.

      Regarding our Government, the media say much more than I could say…I’m listening (while driving) Radio24…to get at least in part a (real) idea about what’s going on here (watching TV is not the same thing, the corruption arrives even there!)…Yes, an aspect I can’t throw on my back…althought our actual political landscape is driving me mad, and it would be better to not think about it….

    • You got the point, my dear Dina…there’s no “german way of living”..or “dutch way of living”…while the the “italian way of living” became an universal concept…

      Thank you very much for the appreciaton and wish you a wonderful day!

  2. Textures, colours and flavours of Italy, oh, yes – so tempting! I can just imagine the choice of such delicious pleasures are endless as are the beautiful friendly souls. Thank you to the very best and dear Italian connoisseur of all things so lovely and Italian. ‘ Italy dances on the opening line of the bucket list of places to visit. Have a lovely evening.

Leave a Reply

