The value of things, not the price

The value of things, not the price

Our children are disconnecting with nature. By the time they are seven years old, most youngsters have been exposed to more than 20,000 advertisements. They can identify 200 corporate logos, but they cannot identify the trees growing in their front yards…

Pantanello

If I do nothing, if I study nothing, if I cease searching, then, woe is me, I am lost.

That is how I look at it — keep going, keep going

come what may.

22 thoughts on “The value of things, not the price

  1. Our children spend more time indoors with technology that outdoors with trees, that is sad. The schools seem inclined to do that, though, and one parent can’t turn the tide.

    • You know that I need to fight with my son?? He loves his joysticks! but once he is out, he changes….The green fields inflame his imagination even more that some Xbox game…He was telling me that he can not wait tomorrow to tell his friends about his adventures and about the Cormorants drying their wings on the shore…He also said: It’s an incredible place and they will not believe me it exists…In spite of the fact this very extended natural reserve is very close from where we live, you will rarely see parents walking aroud there with their childrens…Can you tell me why? I can turn the tide, my dear Brenda…simply because I love this infinite broadcasting station called Nature…

      http://www.fondazionecaetani.org/pantanello.php

      • I don’t know why either. Here the ice prevents us from doing that in deep winter, but the rest of the time, we try to go. Most parents look at me like I have two heads when I say we go hiking on the weekends. Soccer games and practices interfere a lot, though. My kids protest and want to stay home, but once we are out there, they have a great time. Same as you. I guess some people never get past the initial argument.

      • “I love this infinite broadcasting station called Nature…”

        That’s an apt and wonderful description of nature. But of course it’s even more than that. It’s also a transformative medium that works wonders on adults and children alike, as attested by your son.

      • “Understand, I’ll slip quietly away from the noisy crowd when I see the pale stars rising, blooming, over the oaks. I’ll pursue solitary pathways through the pale twilit meadows, with only this one dream:
        You come too.”

        Rainer Maria Rilke

        Oh yes, this wonderful transformative medium called nature works very well…Especially today.

  2. Wonderful post. Love the first photo ~ kind of the mystery of nature that lies right down the road…and then as you move from those B&W images, boom, beautiful greens and beauty of nature can be found 🙂

    It is stunning to find out how much we do not know (or have forgotten) about the nature around us…and instead find our heads full of irrelevant brands and logos. You say it well: “If I do nothing, if I study nothing, if I cease searching, then, woe is me, I am lost.”

    • A cathedral of trees touching the ceilings of the sky, that picture…That is what I thought walking around there. A passage, I thought…from this world to some other we do not know.
      Contrasts. Wholeness. Pain. Desire. Symmetries. Unity. Nothing fits into one single idea. Nothing matters more than love in this damn short life. Nothing at all.

      All the rest, is yes…so irrelevant.

  3. What a wonderful place to visit this morning and never a truer word spoken! You are right, Nature offers our children so much more imagination, truth and wisdom than we could ever own. As for the value of what we teach, I am with you there too! Have you noticed how nature keeps repeating its beautiful patterns and ideas…just one bird has to drop a seed and something grows where it was bare before…it still amazes me.

    Warm regards to you and your handsome (tall?) son!

      • Thank you, he is growing up quickly and his little enquiring mind keeps me on my toes…yesterday he told me he saw a tortoise that was so big that it must have been a million years old. This morning he asked me what firemen do when it’s raining in winter… 😉 so yes, we are getting ready for a change in seasons. With smiles and love to you and yours. M

  4. sono immagini dolcissime e meravigliose insieme, esse invitano a riflettere sulla Bellezza che possediamo ma di cui non tutti possono godere, hai perfettamente ragione
    buona giornata, cara

    • Hello my dear and welcome back!! will you come visit this heaven on Earth?? Smiling…this is Ninfa…I was telling you about time ago..
      I was having wonderful artichokes and strawberries for lunch…Now I would need a coffee and one of your magic cakes…mmm…
      All my very best, as always
      Luana

Leave a Reply

