Always be a poet, even in prose.

Montalcino-September-2014

Montalcino is always an absolutely memorable experience. This is especially true when you meet people like Maria Luce, and her son, Bernardo Losappio.
I felt instantly charmed the minute I walked through the door of their home, a wonderful villa, with the classic Tuscan architecture and calming ambience. I have no words to express my sincere gratitude to her for the wonderful breakfast she prepared for me that morning. Grazie, cara Signora, I hope to see you again soon.
 
 
The day before, in spite of a messy schedule and various appointments, I had dinner at Enoteca Franci, where the incredible person sitting near my table was Valter Peretti. He was so amused by my vocal considerations of wines, that a truly wonderful conversation ensued.
 
Passion brings people to my Montalcino.
Passion make people speak the same language, even if between them, there is an ocean, and countless awful problems.
 
You cannot be in Tuscany, and not reflect on Dante and the time when people were separated into two groups: the rich and educated, such as landowners and scholars and, and the poor, landless farmers and beggars. Though these people were living concurrently in the same city, they spoke two different languages, creating a very distinct difference between the two classes. In Tuscany the same distinction existed: while the rich spoke Latin, the poor spoke a characteristic Tuscan vernacular.

Remember,  when we were driving to Siena and I amused you no end using this dialect…? Remember?? We were laughing… and laughing…

14 thoughts on “Always be a poet, even in prose.

  1. Thats so beautiful Luana!

    ‘Every day we should hear at least one little song, read one good poem, see one exquisite picture, and, if possible, speak a few sensible words.’

    Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

    Have a wonderful weekend, kisses

    • Every day, we should TRY.
      Yes, try to hear at least one little song, read one good poem, see one exquisite picture, and, if possible, speak a few sensible words, my dear Bridget.

      There is only the trying. The rest is not our business.

      Cheers!
      wish I could meet you for lunch! Say hello to Zurich from me!

  2. The landscape shot is just an immaculate representation of what I think of the north of Italy without ever having been there ~ beautiful shots throughout this post. Looks like such a magical and natural place to live & enjoy life. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

